Meet the Judges

Each year we select judges for each category who have experience or expertise in the category. Or have been a past winner of that category. Here are the judges for 2021.



Excellence in Health Outcomes

Robyn Whittaker - WDHB Health Excellence Awards

Robyn Whittaker

Clinical Director of Innovation (i3)

Dr Robyn Whittaker is a Public Health Physician currently leading the innovation stream within a newly established Institute for Innovation and Improvement at Waitematā District Health Board. She leads the Leapfrog Programme of enterprise wide strategic projects, partnerships with industry and academic institutions (such as the Precision Driven Health research partnership), and a Centre for Health IT & Creative Design that works with DHB staff to develop and trial new things.

Karen Bartholomew - WDHB Health Excellence Awards

Karen Bartholomew

Director of Health Outcomes

Karen works as the Director of Health Outcomes across Auckland and Waitematā DHBs, two of the largest District Health Boards in New Zealand She leads a team of public health and health intelligence specialists and also works in the portfolio areas of Māori Health, women’s health and cancer.

Excellence in Patient Experience

Kaeti Rigarlsford - WDHB Health Excellence Awards

Kaeti Rigarlsford

Consumer Council

Kaeti Rigarlsford is an inaugural member of the Consumer Council. Her passion for equality, equity and inclusion is driven by her experience of having had to rely on a wheelchair since she was 24-years-old. She has been working in the disability sector for more than 45 years, advocating for people with disabilities to be seen and treated as equal contributing members of society; promoting equal access to health care, employment and accommodation; and as promoting wellbeing - particularly for the elderly.

DJ Adams - WDHB Health Excellence Awards

DJ Adams

Consumer Council (Ngati Maniapoto, Ngati Kahungunu)

DJ Adams is an inaugural member of the Consumer Council. DJ was born and raised in Auckland and spent a good number of years in the South Island before coming back to Henderson in 2011. He now serves as the secretary of Ahu Whenua Trust Board, administering Whakaki Lake, and has strong ties to the Wairoa District. He is passionate about community services – especially making sure that quality and culturally appropriate healthcare services are available and accessible to the public. He is also a graduate of the Te Whare Tapa Whā (Māori model of health) and Powhiri Poutama (Māori framework for counselling, social work, mental health & social services) Programmes.

Excellence in Innovation

Jonathan Christiansen - WDHB Health Excellence Awards

Jonathan Christiansen

Chief Medical Officer

Dr Jonathan Christiansen became Chief Medical Officer (CMO) at Waitematā DHB in August 2019 after nearly two years as Associate CMO.

Stuart Bloomfield - WDHB Health Excellence Awards

Stuart Bloomfield

Chief Information Officer

Stuart is the CIO of Waitematā & Counties Manukau District Health Board(DHB).

Excellence in Leadership

Tamzin Brott - WDHB Health Excellence Awards

Tamzin Brott

Director of Allied Health, Scientific and Technical Professions

Tamzin was appointed as the Director of Allied Health, Scientific and Technical Professions in 2016. She trained as an occupational therapist in Wellington, and has since undertaken a Master of Health Science and a Master of Business Administration from the Auckland University of Technology (AUT).

Tamzin’s experience includes a range of clinical and non-clinical occupational therapy roles across the adult health spectrum, including a large component in community health.

Jos Peach - WDHB Health Excellence Awards

Jos Peach

Chief Nursing Officer, Professional Leadership

Excellence in Equity

Nigel Chee - WDHB Health Excellence Awards

Nigel Chee

Acting General Manager, Māori Health

Nigel is the Acting General Manager Māori Health, Waitemata DHB & Auckland DHB

Edward Benson-Cooper - WDHB Health Excellence Awards

Edward Benson-Cooper

WDHB Board member

Excellence in Primary and Community Care

Shayne Wijohn - WDHB Health Excellence Awards

Shayne Wijohn

Māori Health Gain Manager

Sue Wells - WDHB Health Excellence Awards

Sue Wells

Associate Professor Health Innovation and Quality Improvement at The University of Auckland

Sue is a public health medicine specialist with a background of 10 years in general practice. She is an associate professor of clinical epidemiology and quality improvement at the School of Population Health, University of Auckland. Sue is also Associate Clinical Director for ProCare, the largest PHO in New Zealand with over 800,000 enrolled patients. Her research/work interests are on improving equity of services and health outcomes particularly for CVD and diabetes via primary care e-health initiatives.

Professional Development for Māori Health

Dianna McGregor - WDHB Health Excellence Awards

Dianna McGregor

Māori Clinical Nurse Director

Is the Māori Clinical Nurse Director across ADHB/WDHB, she started in 2012 as the first Māori Nurse Specialist in WDHB. She started her nursing career in 1976 as a Nurse Aid, then an Enrolled Nurse, and finally a Registered Nurse. She describes herself as a generalist and stands proud of her Ngapuhi heritage, and of what Māori nurses and Midwives have achieved in her work life, to champion equity for their professions and of course our Māori communities.

Te Aniwa Tutara - WDHB Health Excellence Awards

Te Aniwa Tutara

Project Manager - Māori workforce development, Equity and Quality

Excellence in Research

There are no judges for this award category - Winners of the University of Auckland and Waitematā DHB Research Symposium will be acknowledged at the Health Excellence Awards

CEO Outstanding Contribution Award

Dale Bramley - WDHB Health Excellence Awards

Dale Bramley

Chief Executive Officer

Dale is the CEO of Waitematā District Health Board(DHB).

Mark Shepherd - WDHB Health Excellence Awards

Mark Shepherd

Executive Director, Hospital Services

Young Employee of the Year — sponsored by Pak 'n Save Albany

Jos Peach - WDHB Health Excellence Awards

Jos Peach

Chief Nursing Officer, Professional Leadership

Fiona McCarthy - WDHB Health Excellence Awards

Fiona McCarthy

Director – People and Culture

Fiona McCarthy is the Director, Human Resources of Waitematā District Health Board