2019 Winners

Please note that the 2019 award categories are different than previous years.

Excellence in Health Outcomes

Tackling the social determinants of health – people in contact with specialist mental health services would like to work


Sheryl  Jury (and colleagues/project team: Terry Catton, Nan Wirihana, Warren Elwin (Workwise) and Viliame Lewenilovo (MSD)

Excellence in Patient Experience

Transforming medicines administration for people with Parkinson's: An Inter-professional collaboration


Angela Lambie, Avril Lee, Anna Miles, Tony Hikairo Spelman, Richard Hansen, Monica Oad

Excellence in Innovation

electronic Clinical Notes - a surprisingly seamless transition


David Ryan, Kyle Lamb, Tony Zhou, Stella Hammond, Kriti Wadhwa, Eryn Olshen, Andrew Cave

Excellence in Leadership

Jean McQueen – nominated by Harshna Mistry and Tim Wood

Excellence in Equity

Mana Tū - A whānau ora approach to long term conditions


Taria Tane (and colleagues from Kai Manaaki team)

Excellence in Primary and Community Care

Awhi Ora - Supporting Wellbeing: A walk alongside wellbeing support service meeting the needs of the community


Shona Muir (ADHB), Lindsay Havens (ProCare), Lynn Young (Walsh Trust), Brendan Short (WDHB), Camille Gheerbrant (ADHB)

PDF Committee Awards for Contribution to Māori Health

Correcting the balance- optimal medicines use and equitable services for Māori older adults

Joanna Hikaka (Kaupapa Māori award - Contribution to improving Māori health equity)

Tū tika, Tū kaha, Tū maia, Tū manawanui – kia puawai te Oranga Māori

Martin van der Kaay

Matike, Komo Kakahu, Korikori (get up, get dressed, get moving) - Educational tools for Maori patients 

Sharon Russell

Young Employee of the Year

Daniel Tsai – nominated by Harshna Mistry, Tim Wood, Liz Fagan

CEO Outstanding Contribution Award

The Leapfrog Team (Making large leaps in digitising our hospital: the Leapfrog Programme team)


Nominated by the Leapfrog team: Robyn Whittaker, Lara Hopley, Andrew Cave, David Ryan, Delwyn Armstrong, Jay O'Brien, Kelly Bohot, Clayton Redfern, Renee Kong, Peter Groom, Michael Sheehan, Stuart Bloomfield, Penny Andrew, Shane Fullham, Barbara Corning-Davis, Karen Nelson, Sharon Puddle

Excellence in Research (names to be recognised from Research Symposium)

Best Oral Presentation

Jacqui Allen and DHB collaborator, Monique Greene

Best Research Poster 

Marlise Heynike (WDHB) and co-author Vijay Dyavadi (ADHB)

Emerging Researcher

Daniel Wen (University of Auckland student researcher), Richard Martin and Katherine Gale (supervisors/co-investigators)